Chhatrapati Sahuji Maharaj University (CSJMU) Kanpur

Chhatrapati Shahu Ji Maharaj University (CSJMU), formerly Kanpur University, is located in Kanpur, Uttar Pradesh. It is one of the largest universities in Asia. Chhatrapati Sahuji Maharaj University was established in 1962 when Agra University split into Agra and Kanpur universities. Between 1884 and 1922, Mayawati changed the name of the Chief Minister to the present-day Kanpur University after the Maharaja of Kolhapur, also known as Chhatrapati Sahuji Maharaj.

The college offers various undergraduate courses in science, commerce, disciplines of arts, law, engineering, biotechnology, computer science, management and medicine. The campus is spread over 264 acres. Applications are invited online. The selections for the courses are either merit or admission based. There are separate hostel, academic and administrative blocks.

The university now has 170 affiliated colleges in 15 districts. For admission to undergraduate programmes, candidate must have passed 10+2 from a recognized board with minimum required marks in relevant stream, similarly for postgraduate courses, Bachelor’s degree with minimum required marks in relevant stream.

Admission Of Chhatrapati Sahuji Maharaj Kanpur University

The admission process in Chhatrapati Sahuji Maharaj Kanpur University usually starts in May. Candidates interested in admission are required to fill the application form in online mode through their official website. The university conducts the online entrance test for admission to several courses at UG and PG level. Apart from this, the university also accepts the national level scores to admit the interested applicants for various courses.


Chhatrapati Sahuji Maharaj University provides financial assistance to economically weaker students through mean-based scholarships funded by university alumni and philanthropic institutions. The scholarship given to wards with low annual parental income is 25-50 per cent of the annual fee depending on the need of the students. Such candidates are required to provide income certificate issued by Tehsildar or Magistrate.

Chhatrapati Sahuji Maharaj University also offers merit-based scholarships to students who have secured a minimum of 60 percent aggregate or CPI of 6.5 out of 10 in the previous qualifying degree/exam. Also, the applicant should have minimum 75 percent attendance record certificate with no indiscipline. The names of the students for the scholarship are finalized by the university committee which is included every year. The committee consists of the Pro-Vice-Chancellor and Dean Students Welfare, however, the final decision rests in the hands of the Vice-Chancellor of the University while approving the merit-based scholarship.

Leave a Comment